RSS Feed

Nick Olson & Lilah Horwitz | Makers (Documentary)



I found this on Instagram. An artist, creator, photographer & his partner building the house of their dreams with 500$. I thought you might like it 🙂

“Copyright Disclaimer Under Section 107 of the Copyright Act 1976, allowance is made for “fair use” for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, and research. Fair use is a use permitted by copyright statute that might otherwise be infringing. Non-profit, educational or personal use tips the balance in favour of fair use.”

Published on 29 Jul 2013
For behind the scenes of the “Glass Cabin” go here: http://bit.ly/16SLwDj
In 2012, Nick Olson and Lilah Horwitz quit their jobs and set off to build a glass cabin in the mountains of West Virginia.
Nick is a photographer who specializes in tintypes taken with a camera he made himself. He currently works for a landscape company in Milwaukee designing one-of-a-kind objects and spends his off time travelling the country looking for adventure. Lilah is a designer. She has made several clothing lines, each one coinciding with the a city/place she inhabits. She currently sells her work in New York boutiques and also works for a landscaping company in Milwaukee Wisconsin.

halfcuttea.com

filmed by
Matt Glass and Jordan Wayne Long

interviewed by
Jordan Wayne Long

music and editing by
Matt Glass

The music from this video can be streamed here:
https://soundcloud.com/glassbrain/mat…

or downloaded here:
http://mattglass.bandcamp.com/album/h…
Category
Entertainment
Licence
Standard YouTube Licence

About oawritingspoemspaintings

A lover of poetry, abstract and realistic painting, music, good writing, languages, Italy, photography, holistic therapies, natural lifestyle and fully living the moment.

8 responses »

  1. Thank you for liking “Strange Passage.” I think it is great that they were able to build this house from recycled materials for $500, but I am just wondering if the house has a kitchen and a bathroom. I once read a story about a woman who built a small Victorian house of her dreams without spending a lot of money, but the house had no plumbing or electricity. She also could not live in the house during the winter because it was too cold. She and her husband lived inside a trailer beside the house. I wonder if Nick Olson and Lilah Horwitz have a similar arrangement.

    Reply
  2. I have absolutely no idea myself. I just found it on instagram and loved the whole concept but didn’t do much research. What you are asking is a very valid question and I wonder if anyone has the answer to it so, to all our faithful followers…
    If you have it come forward and satisfy our curiosity 🙂
    Thanks for this comment I really appreciate the time and effort provided.
    Best wishes for a serene and sunny weekend 🙂

    Reply
    • You are welcome. 🙂 I am sorry that it took me so long to reply back to you. For some reason, I did not see your reply in my reader (or accidentally missed it), and I did not have the time to look for the answer to my own question until now. According to an article I read in curbed.com called “Artists Lilah Horwitz and Nick Olson on Building a Well-Windowed $500 House ‘Made to Watch the Sunset'” by Amy Schellenbaum, they planned to add a summer kitchen and an outdoor bathroom. This article was written on February 3, 2014, so they may have already done it.

      Reply
  3. Reblogged this on Anything is Possible! and commented:
    A dream house for $500! There’s a cute little scene at the very end of the video. Thanks for finding this oawritingspoemspaintings.

    Reply
  4. This was close to my college dream (I studied sculpture) and one of my few unrealised abitions in life. I love individually created houses so very personal!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

