RSS Feed

DIY Build an Earthship Home! | Getoffmoney.com


I find this video most fascinating & went on looking at the full documentary which would take too much space here but you can look it up with the tittle “Garbage Warrior ALL ABOUT EARTHSHIPS – Full Length Documentary” on YouTube.
What fascinated me most beside the fact that the whole subject is mind boggling, is that at a point he said something very wise I quote “I missed the freedom to fail” (referring to the time he got his license as architect taken away & they didn’t allow him to build his projects because of some building law requirements) for me as for many others I imagine, failure is something you’d rather avoid surely not miss or invite in your life, that got me thinking…

He truly believed not being able to fail stopped him achieving his goals in life, that was so human & refreshing to hear.
I don’t think I’ll ever see after that failing as I saw it before, I think you’ll understand what I mean when you’ll hear it in its context.

“Copyright Disclaimer Under Section 107 of the Copyright Act 1976, allowance is made for “fair use” for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, and research. Fair use is a use permitted by copyright statute that might otherwise be infringing. Non-profit, educational or personal use tips the balance in favour of fair use.”

Published on Apr 8, 2012
Build an Earthship Home
http://getoffmoney.com
Category
People & Blogs
License
Standard YouTube License

About oawritingspoemspaintings

A lover of poetry, abstract and realistic painting, music, good writing, languages, Italy, photography, holistic therapies, natural lifestyle and fully living the moment.

4 responses »

  1. Reblogged this on A Random Harvest and commented:
    My next, update, post is taking a while to write. In the meantime, I know some of you are into Earthship homes, so this re-blog contains an interesting linkie. Hope you are all having a great weekend and that temperatures are what you enjoy most. ~ Linne

    Reply
  2. Thanks for sharing this. I’ve watched the entire documentary a while back as earthships have been a passion of mine for a couple of decades. We even went so far as to have designs drawn up with everything we wanted. Unfortunately, I was no able to find an area in my state that would allow us to build it.

    I agree with Reynolds, the ability to fail is important to our happiness. Look at Einstein or Alexander Graham Bell, Tesla. One thing these people had in common was the freedom to try new things and it brought them fulfillment. I’ve learned I need to be creative, trying new things just to see how they will come out. It’s one of life’s simple pleasures.

    Reply
    • What a beautiful way of putting it!… failing is… “one of life’s simple pleasures” sorry I’m twisting it a bit, you said, “trying new things just to see how they will come out” is the pleasure, but failing can happen along with novelty, that’s why I did the shortcut which to me is a very wise way of seeing things 🙂
      You see, I spent a lifetime being scared of just that…failing, until someone very wise (my “Core-belief’s Psych-k” practitioner) advised me to get out of my security box & try the unsafe in order to explore my possibilities & that’s when things started to slowly pick up, it’s the only way I’ve managed to be where I am today & I’m very grateful to have been given such sound advice.
      I am happy to hear your interests laid in that direction at a point, it is a problem when you have to uproot yourself just for accommodations you dream of & sometimes one side outweighs the other…
      Thanks for bringing your testimony to this page, it’s truly very much appreciated!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

