RSS Feed

Aurora Robson – ‘A Practice’ A plastic artist & a genius!


I found this amazingly unusual video in my reader from http://purplewoods.wordpress.com/2014/07/03/aurora-robson-a-practice/ & was so impressed that I couldn’t help myself but post it!
Aurora Robson is a beacon of light among the debris of our inventions, she brings beauty where you’d least expect it, turns the ugly to art, salvages our carelessness & rises it to hopeful horizons…
Enjoy it!
P.S
Just realized this could be a tribute to everyone in our blogging community trying (and succeeding!) in keeping July free of plastic 🙂

“Copyright Disclaimer Under Section 107 of the Copyright Act 1976, allowance is made for “fair use” for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, and research. Fair use is a use permitted by copyright statute that might otherwise be infringing. Non-profit, educational or personal use tips the balance in favour of fair use.”

Published on 21 Mar 2014
A look at the work of multi-media artist Aurora Robson, who creates art from discarded materials, excess packaging and junk mail. Video currently on display at The Franklin Park Conservatory.

http://www.aurorarobson.com
http://www.bonaweiss.com
Category
Film & Animation
Licence
Standard YouTube Licence

About oawritingspoemspaintings

A lover of poetry, abstract and realistic painting, music, good writing, languages, Italy, photography, holistic therapies, natural lifestyle and fully living the moment.

17 responses »

  1. Incredibile, che cose belle crea!!!

    Reply
    • Lei è incredibile, non è lei?! Sono contento che ti sia piaciuto il suo lavoro tanto quanto ho fatto io 🙂
      Sentivo il suo lavoro stava passando su un messaggio molto più grande al mondo che solo la sua creatività …
      Si stava dando speranza a un mondo industriale che non mi importa dei danni lo fa fino a quando il denaro scorre, si stava dando soluzioni invece di problemi.
      Spero che il mio Google translate non sta facendo troppi errori, ho controllato fuori e sembra avere senso, ma io non sono così fluente 🙂
      Quindi, le mie scuse per un italiano imperfetto!

      Reply
  2. With so much plastic around its often so difficult to become plastic free as much as I try. Bringing awareness in our over use and the resources it takes to produce plastic, and the amount dumped in our oceans is always a great cause to promote so Thank you for sharing this amazing art.. 🙂 And enjoy your weekend … Love Sue

    Reply
    • I find it extremely difficult too but I’m trying to make an effort toward by buying my organic grains in bulk, that comes in paper bags, use much less disposables when I go on holidays, try & find my organic proteins which are seitan, tofu, tempeh in bulk too made by small businesses… & finally try my best to bring that awareness to my family so they should make the effort too when they go out buying in shops eg. by coming back with plastic bags.
      My biggest dilemma is water bottles as I don’t trust tap water not even filtered one 😦
      Did you see this post which I posted a while back?
      You might really like it, I did bc it felt like finally people are coming up with solutions instead of always bringing up the problem… which I tend to do myself 😉
      Here’s the link https://oawritingspoemspaintings.wordpress.com/2013/10/18/plastic-to-oil-fantastic-ow2-0/
      Enjoy your summer!

      Reply
    • I find it extremely difficult too but I’m trying to make an effort toward by buying my organic grains in bulk, that comes in paper bags, use much less disposables when I go on holidays, try & find my organic proteins which are seitan, tofu, tempeh in bulk too made by small businesses… & finally try my best to bring that awareness to my family so they should make the effort too when they go out buying in shops eg. by coming back with plastic bags.
      My biggest dilemma is water bottles as I don’t trust tap water not even filtered one 😦
      Did you see this post which I posted a while back?
      You might really like it, I did bc it felt like finally people are coming up with solutions instead of always bringing up the problem… which I tend to do myself 😉
      Here’s the link https://oawritingspoemspaintings.wordpress.com/2013/10/18/plastic-to-oil-fantastic-ow2-0/
      Enjoy your summer!

      Reply
  3. So enjoyed watching her video… 🙂 loved the clean up projects of plastic too… Thank you for bringing awareness.. xox Sue

    Reply
  4. I found the video to be enjoyable and quite thoughtful. I have been working hard to change my life choices, it is obvious I need to work harder.

    Reply
    • Thanks for taking an interest in my blog, I am glad you enjoyed the video.
      We all need to make changes which I frankly find sometimes quite challenging but I’d rather take it step by step so as not to overreact & drive all my family crazy (!)
      She does indeed stimulates us in that direction which was the purpose of her works.

      Reply
  5. Fantastic work! Thank you!

    Reply
  6. It’s disappointing how many companies turn to plastic. I used to buy a yogurt that came in a cardboard container but then they switched to plastic. I also used to buy Italian Ices made by Luigi’s Italian Ices that came in cardboard containers but now are in plastic. Mayonnaise jars used to all be made of glass, now, plastic. Good post and good reminder for us!

    Reply
    • Truly a shame that it has been replaced so quickly & so radically but you never know, awareness is very strong with the internet & the consumers are the ones who decide if they want to consume or not what comes in plastic & that is what matters in the long run, we end up “electing” for it by buying it or not… the mistake is thinking we do not have the power for change to happen, that we do not matter…
      we do.
      Thanks for your kind words 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

