RSS Feed

Green flies on organically grown plants… can anyone help?


©copyright2013owpp

©copyright2013owpp

I have asked a blogger that question already but I did not have photos to show.
They were hard to take as my macro is a very basic one but I got some good enough close ups for anyone to have an idea of what I’m talking about.
I tried red pepper juice with soap, vinegar cut with water but they all spoil the leaves which as you know takes a long time to grow.
These little guests come later when the plant has finally had time to grow and you to have become very fond of them.
Anyone with an idea that works without any damage will be gratefully welcomed on this blog and who knows, we might help others in the process 😉

©copyright2013owpp

©copyright2013owpp

Are they  eggs? ©copyright2013owpp

Are they eggs?
©copyright2013owpp

©copyright2013owpp

©copyright2013owpp

©copyright2013owpp

©copyright2013owpp

About oawritingspoemspaintings

A lover of poetry, abstract and realistic painting, music, good writing, languages, Italy, photography, holistic therapies, natural lifestyle and fully living the moment.

24 responses »

  1. those are called aphids and are a common plant pest. easiest way to get rid of them is to fill a spray bottle with soap and water and spray the plant. You may want to set it in the sink or tub. Be sure to spray the underside of the leaves as that is where they lay the eggs. You might have to repeat this several times as your infestation is bad.

    Reply
    • Thanks ever so much for so quickly providing an answer.
      So, I understand I don’t need more than that, how much soap to how much water? Would you have an idea?

      Reply
      • I usually use regular dish soap and depending on the size of the sprayer use a teaspoon or two. You really can’t use too much. Well ok maybe you can but you get the idea. A nice soapy water is what you want. The soap makes it easier for the bugs to slide off the plants. Another reason to do it in the sink or tub. Spray the plant down till it’s nice and wet. You may have to repeat in a day or so, then just repeat till the bugs are gone. I usually spray my plants once or twice a week to keep the bugs down and to dust the plants. The soap doesn’t hurt the plants.

      • Wow! This is truly helpful & I really appreciate 🙂
        I will do it, if it works for you there’s no reason why it shouldn’t work for me too.
        Thanks a whole lot!

      • Your welcome. It really does work. Just have to do it a few times and it’s safe for your plants. Good luck. 🙂

    • Catherine Johnson

      Oops I didn’t read this first 😉

      Reply
  2. Catherine Johnson

    My husband just happens to be a technical advisor on plant growing. He said soap on its own and more than once because if the adults have laid eggs you have to wait for them to hatch and get rid of them too. Definitely not vinegar or pepper juice. Hope this helps.

    Reply
  3. They’re called aphids. Here’s a how-to on getting rid of them: http://howto.yellow.co.nz/home-garden/garden-and-outdoors/how-to-get-rid-of-aphids/ I found it had a lot of good information

    Reply
  4. I do also that on my rosebush but I press a sponge with soap. It works.

    Reply
  5. For my roses, I have always used more or less the same method, save I use diluted washing up liquid in a spray bottle. Or perhaps that is what is meant by soap in the States! 🙂

    Reply
  6. We use a soapy solution too, So I see you have already been given great advice 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

