RSS Feed

The coin you dropped in the basket of hope


together all the way ©copyright2013owpp

together all the way
©copyright2013owpp

This poem is to honor my younger sister’s noble, kind, constant presence in good and trying times.

Can I begin to scrape the surface
Will you ever know, realize the
Depth of your random acts?

I laud your selflessness the way
You foster the wounded heart lest
They disappear to the winds, unafraid
Of requital magnanimous to supremacy…

Weak words for strong disposition
I tried to pare but would need
To write a Te Deum to delineate
The making of thee

Stand tall, head high every
Moment of the day’s tide
Thank you will be furrowed in your
Bravery well after this tribulation

Time will not go by without a praise
And affection where lies the maxim
For humanity the ultimate paradigm
Thy art the reason for our creation

Please accept and welcome this humble
Verse as a token, as the treasured coin
You dropped in the basket of hope…

About oawritingspoemspaintings

A lover of poetry, abstract and realistic painting, music, good writing, languages, Italy, photography, holistic therapies, natural lifestyle and fully living the moment.

29 responses »

  1. Such a lovely tribute to your sister. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Very beautiful! My sister and I are very close while separated geographically by the oceans.

    Reply
    • Me too but I’ve learned that it’s not time nor geographical separations that determine anything as long as there’s a place in the heart…
      And sometimes situations demands & requires you to take a plane and spend time together 😉

      Reply
  3. Aw. I bet she loves this. A delightful tribute.

    Reply
  4. What a beautiful walk way and a nice poem to your sister.

    Reply
  5. very lovely tribute to your sister! thank you for sharing!

    Reply
  6. What a beautiful poetic tribute to your sister… Family can bring such comfort and support… and its so good to have a sibling that fills our hearts with love…

    I am the eldest of 5, 3 sisters one brother… I have one sister who I absolutely love to bits, as my other sisters have become strangers to me…( Not through my choice ).. Family mean the world to me…. and thank you for sharing your personal words here with us…
    Love and Blessings
    Sue

    Reply
    • When families do get along it’s a bottomless well of treasures. Unfortunately we do not always choose and sometimes parts of the family can fall out but that’s a choice THEY have made and there’s nothing much we can do about it besides accepting what is and appreciate what we do have.
      I am happy to share my experiences on such receptive ears 🙂
      Thanks for this beautiful testimony of your love for your sister, I deeply appreciate!

      Reply
      • I nearly lost her in the 90’s to Breast Cancer, she was only 36 and had 4 young children, and went through major surgery… She is my Hero, although she says I’m hers LOL… we are there for each other no matter what … ..

      • Now I can piece the puzzle (I get the whole picture so to speak) It’s unfortunate to say that the most precious souls are usually those that have gone through hardships. It’s what polishes our rough edges…
        The results are that she is the only one you can relate to because she knows what really matters, she’s had the time to throw away the frills… she is more spiritual maybe & goes straight to the kernel. You are lucky to have each other and I wish both of you the best of health 🙂

      • Spot on, she doesn’t know just what a spiritual being she is… as she puts others first… but lives each day to its fullest having faced her darkest fears…

        You are very perceptive……. And We are VERY lucky xxxxx Special hugs to you

  7. How lovely. Value every moment you have with her. I lost mine suddenly and there are so many times I wish I could pick up the phone and call her. We had a difficult relationship which ended well…but I wish it had been different all those years. Perhaps I should write a Te Deum for her.

    Reply
    • A pen & paper usually is one’s salvation, it’s the cheapest therapy 🙂
      We can’t rewrite the past but we can cherish those precious moments where there was clarity of mind & heart… that’s the best we can do. Every moment good or bad in a relationship is for some kind of purpose which we cannot always figure out until much later but if we have trust it was all for our own good… it couldn’t have been better even if it was to be done again. Sometimes people are blinded by truth, they only see or understand what is truly important much later, they need time to mature, a bit like good wine 🙂
      Don’t regret anything because life has a perfect order and it was all in the exact place it had to be, at that moment. The best way we can live is by taking life in fragments of moments then another & another and absorb it fully.
      What you have now is the top best that’ll ever be, savor it with all your heart because that’s all we get… once.
      Very best of luck! Thanks for this heartwarming comment, I really appreciate it 🙂

      Reply
  8. I love the photo that draws us in and then is followed by a special tribute to your sister. My sister has written poetry for me. Thanks for taking time to like on of my posts!

    Reply
  9. I absolutely loved your poem about your sister, I think the same of my own sister. I can relate to what you feel and am so grateful to have her in my life.
    Your picture is lovely too, this landscape, architecture could be in my country too.
    Thanks for your visit.
    Isabelle

    Reply
    • Your country is absolutely beautiful & I have visited its peaks quite a few times…
      Thanks for this kind, heartwarming comment! It is a true gift indeed to have a good relationship with your siblings, I am glad you have that 🙂

      Reply
  10. There is a weight and nobility to the poem as well. Thank you for the like on my Smarts and S-esteem post. Cheerleading your way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

