RSS Feed

Two very wise quotes!


Here are two very inspiring quotes, take a few seconds to absorb the depth of the words. The first one is wisdom in its pure form which is the characteristics of the Dalai Lama and the second makes you appreciate life doubly.
Enjoy 🙂

Well it seems these quotes have gotten erased on my blog…so I’ll simply write them down myself here.

The Dalai Lama when asked what surprised him most about humanity, answered “man. because he sacrifices his health in order to make money. then he sacrifices money to recuperate his health. and then he is so anxious about the future that he does not enjoy the present; the result being that he does not live in the present or the future; he lives as if he is never going to die, and then dies having never really lived”

“If you have food in your fridge, clothes on your back, a roof over your head and a place to sleep, you are richer than 75% of the world. If you have money in your bank, your wallet, and some spare change, you are among 8% of the world’s wealthy. If you woke up this morning with more health than illness, you are more blessed than the million people who will not survive this week. If you have never experienced the danger of battle, the agony of imprisonment or torture or the horrible pangs of starvation, you are luckier than 500 million people alive and suffering. If you can read this message, you are more fortunate than 3 billion people in the world who cannot read at all.”

*Please note I did not create nor do I own the copyright to these texts. I am sharing it because I believe that was the original intent of the author.

About oawritingspoemspaintings

A lover of poetry, abstract and realistic painting, music, good writing, languages, Italy, photography, holistic therapies, natural lifestyle and fully living the moment.

15 responses »

  1. Love this post! Especially the second poster – it really makes you feel privileged. I have printed it out and stuck it on the wall beside my desk so the next time I’m about to give out about all my minor woes I’ll see this and think again 🙂 Thanks!

    Reply
    • Wow! Your comment made my day 🙂
      I truly appreciate this positive feedback.
      It’s the first time in one year I put a quote as I mainly focused on paintings, photography, poetry and inspirational videos on art, wisdom or general knowledge that could serve the bloggers community but I couldn’t let these two quotes pass by they were just too good!
      Thanks for taking an interest 🙂

      Reply
  2. Catherine Johnson

    Two great quotes! Very inspiring, thanks!

    Reply
  3. very true indeed.
    groetjes, Francina

    Reply
  4. They both make you really stop and think.

    Reply
  5. I have always loved the Dalia Lama, and this Quote sums up his wisdom on how foolish Man is in his search for happiness…
    Wishing you a wonderful weekend and big Hugs Sue

    Reply

Leave a Reply

