RSS Feed

Getting used to a blog. ( Any tips out there? )


Help! (2)

Hi everyone,

I know I have been promising to post my paintings and I am working on it, classifying, gathering, taking photos
but it’s a slow process. As a new blogger, I have to rely on family cooperation.
On the way I’m paving I encounter mishaps too. For example, my ” new post display ” on the top right of the page doesn’t
load the information of, comments, likes, followers… My ” notifications ” and ” new post ” ( that permits us to post video, photos give awards… )on the dashboard neither.

I have tried to ask for help in WordPress but their language is Chinese to me ( maybe it is not an example, I’m
teaching myself Chinese 🙂 ) So my questions for today out there to my fellow bloggers are, did you encounter such problems in the beginning,
is there anyone as unfamiliar as me in technical terms and still managed to discover how to bring a you tube video on their blog or,
photos? correct a malfunctioning tool on their blog?

Any tips will be greatly appreciated, enjoy your day!

About oawritingspoemspaintings

A lover of poetry, abstract and realistic painting, music, good writing, languages, Italy, photography, holistic therapies, natural lifestyle and fully living the moment.

9 responses »

  1. You know how to eat an elephant, right? One bite at a time. As you categorize your art at home, categorize it on your blog. I prefer to post from the dashboard, it gives me more options for imbedding photos and such. Hang in there – but hey, I’m a new blogger, too. One step at a time, grow in your knowledge as you grow your blog.

    Reply
  2. Hi! Thanks for checking out my blog – appreciate your comments and I’m looking forward to seeing more of your works.

    I agree with Backdoor Artist and would start now to organize your workings on the blog so that it doesn’t become an overwhelming project down the road. Categorize your blog intuitively, meaning your are showcasing the works for your audience. How would they want to see the pieces, so they aren’t hunting for too long (that will discourage them for re-visiting or staying longer).

    There is a blogger that I find extremely helpful, timethief at http://www.onecoolsitebloggingtips.com. The author of this blog is excellent and all about wordpress. I think you’ll find many useful tips to help you sort through developing your blog.

    Best wishes – you’ve got a great start! Mary

    Reply
    • Sorry, but I’m puzzled, what does ” showcasing ” my work mean? And ” categorize ” I thought, in my naive way, that if i’d give a variety of articles and poems
      I’d keep my bloggers from getting bored with the same subject, but according to what you say, blogging doesn’t work that way, so how does one undo that order,
      by showcasing and categorizing? So you think that link will be clear enough to give me those answers?

      Reply
      • Not a problem. Showcase, means how you display your works when someone opens the post. Categorize is the topics which the post will fall under, for instance on my blog a categorize is “Landscapes” and when a visitor opens this category they’ll see only my individual landscape paintings.

        I think you’ll like the link that I sent out. The blog just posted on http://www.onecoolsiteforbloggingtips.com addresses the topics you are asking about. Hope you check it out.

        We are all learning, glad you asked the question. Best wishes ~ Mary

  3. Another thing to remember is that some blog themes offer more pages than others. Some are specifically set-up for photos others for games and others as magazines etc. I’m pretty clueless when it comes to this stuff, but I’ve somehow managed to have pages and catogories on my blog and they seem to work. 🙂

    All the best, I hope you can figure it out the way you’d like it to be.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

